04/10/2017

MCM T-Shirts sold out!

The limited edition for 2017 of our May Cruise Madness T-shirt is completely out of stock. We thank you for your huge interest!

more...

thumb


How it all began...

Towards the end of 1997 as the aircooled season was coming to a close, it became clear that there was still something missing here in Germany, a pure Old School Cal Look or Resto Cal Look orientated club! The problem was that Resto Cals and Old School cars were out there, but in normal VW clubs they seemed to disappear.

image A group of friends who shared the same passion in VWs decided to do something about it. Karsten Feldsieper, Thorsten Henke, Christoph Moos, Georg Otto, Gregor Schilling and Christian Veit decided to form a national Club for Restos and Cal Look Volkswagen owners. The major influences behind the DFL were clubs like DAS (Der Autobahn Scrapers) in Belgium and DKT (Der Kleine Torpedo) of Austria which were already up and running and very popular in their relative countries in Europe. DFL also took inspiration from several VW clubs a little further afield such as the mighty DKP.

The rules and regulations used by most VW clubs, were chosen for DFL, but we included strict rules on the cars, as these were as important as the shared activities we planned. Statutes were formed and then it was just a case of finding the right name, and this was far from easy! We wanted the name to consist of three words, as had become the norm in the Seventies in California. The word Luftkühlers was an easy one - as it means air-cooled, the rest would prove a lot harder! After throwing a few names around, some good, some bad, one of the founder members said "That sounds fierce!" The German for fierce is "Fies".

That led to the birth of Der Fieser Luftkühlers in 1998. The basic translation into English is The Fierce Aircoolers, and is abbreviated into DFL.

image Now all we needed was a club emblem. As you can imagine the creation of our emblem was no easy task, it took a lot of serious beer drinking before we were anywhere near finished! By accident we found an old logo from the Deutscher Touring Club in a very old issue of the German car magazine Gute Fahrt and decided it was the perfect basis for our club badge. The DTC was an automobile club, comparable to the ADAC or the AvD, in case you didn't know.

The first VW event the DFL visited as a club was in 1999 at the Bad Camberg Vintage VW show known in Germany as the international Veteranen-Treffen and held over the weekend of June 18th to 20th. At long last Germany had a Cal Look club! Our cars were obviously displayed outside of the main arena, but they were well received and photographs of the club cars and club display were all over the internet soon after the show. DFL had arrived!

The most significant change since the start of the club in 1999 happened in February of 2004. As time passed by years virtually all of the DFL club cars had developed into traditional Cal Look cars and the decision was to change of the rules of the club to make it California Look only.

image
Imprint
Facebook

10.04.2017

MCM T-Shirts ausverkauft!

Die limitierte 2017er Edition unseres May Cruise Madness T-Shirts ist nun restlos ausverkauft. Wir bedanken uns für Euer reges Interesse!

mehr...

thumb

Wie alles begann...

Bereits Ende 1997, nach dem Abschluß der Saison und damit auch nach diversen Treffen, wurde langsam klar, dass in Deutschland noch ein rein Old School Cal Look/Resto Cal Look-orientierter VW Club fehlte. Restos/Old Schooler waren bis dato meist Einzelgänger oder gingen in allgemeinen Käferclubs unter.

image Ein paar Jungs verspürten den Drang, sich in diese Richtung zu engagieren, denn so konnte diese Szene einfach nicht gedeien. Karsten Feldsieper, Thorsten Henke, Christoph Moos, Georg Otto, Gregor Schilling und Christian Veit wollten die Idee eines überregionalen Clubs für Restos und Cal Looker zusammen realisieren. Vorbilder gab es natürlich auch. Clubs wie der DAS (Der Autobahn Scrapers) aus Belgien oder der DKT (Der Kleine Torpedo) aus Österreich haben da sicher genauso Einfluß genommen, wie diverse Clubs aus Übersee, darunter natürlich der schon in den 70ern gegründete DKP.

Keine Vereinsmeierei, dafür aber klare Regeln, was die Fahrzeuge angeht, waren fast so wichtig wie die gemeinsamen Aktivitäten. Man entwarf eine Clubsatzung, in der die Regeln schriftlich fixiert wurden. Bei der Namensgebung ging es nicht ganz so flott voran. Klar war, dass der Name des Clubs aus drei Wörtern bestehen sollte. „Luftkühlers” fand sich recht schnell, doch fehlte noch das passende Adjektiv. So kamen viele Namen zustande, einige so schlimm, dass einer der Gründer dazu meinte: „Das klingt aber fies!”

So wurde dann Anfang 1998 „Der Fieser Luftkühlers” mit dem für alle Beteiligten gut klingenden Kürzel DFL geboren!

image Fehlte noch das Logo. Trotz genügend Cerveza wollte die Gestaltung eines passenden Emblems nicht in die Gänge kommen. Erst der zufällige Fund in einer alten „Gute Fahrt” brachte den kreativen Stein ins Rollen. Entdeckt wurde darin nämlich das Logo des „Deutschen Touring Club” kurz DTC. Wie geschaffen als Vorlage für das künftige Club-Emblem des DFL. Der DTC war im Übrigen ein Automobilclub, vergleichbar mit dem ADAC oder dem AvD.

Im Sommer 1999 war es dann endlich soweit. Auf dem internationalen Veteranen-Treffen in Bad Camberg vom 18.–20. Juni präsentierten sich die Mitglieder des ersten Cal Look-Clubs in Deutschland das erste Mal gemeinsam. Außerhalb des eigentlichen Veranstaltungsgeländes und trotzdem so beachtet, dass man anschließend Bilder der Club-Fahrzeuge und des damals noch sehr einfachen Clubstandes auf allen wichtigen und unwichtigen VW-Seiten im Internet wiederfand.

Eine einschneidende Änderung gab es im Februar 2004. Da sich in den letzten Jahren alle Fahrzeuge weg vom Resto Cal Look und hin zum traditionellen Cal Look entwickelten, beschloss man die Satzung zu ändern. Seit dem werden nur noch Volkswagen im traditionellen Cal Look aufgenommen.

image
Impressum
Facebook